Mozart Requiem

Music by

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Großes Festspielhaus

Salzburg, AT




Soprano  Lisette Oropesa
Mezzo-soprano  Marianne Crebassa
Tenor  Rolando Villazón
Bass  Tareq Nazmi


Thomas Guggeis


Symphony in D major K. 297 "Pariser Symphonie"

Requiem in D minor for soli, choir and orchestra K. 626

Vienna Philharmonic
Wiener Singverein


The Mozart Requiem is a choral work by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. It is a requiem mass, which is a type of mass celebrated for the dead. The work was left unfinished by Mozart at the time of his death in 1791 and was completed by a student of his, Franz Xaver Süssmayr.

The Requiem is composed for soloists, choir, and orchestra, and is divided into several sections, including the "Introit", "Kyrie", "Sequentia", "Offertorium" and "Agnus Dei". It opens with the "Introit", which is a powerful and mournful introduction. The "Kyrie" is a plea for mercy and forgiveness, and it is followed by the "Sequentia", which is a series of movements that include the "Dies Irae", a depiction of the Day of Judgement. The "Offertorium" is a plea for eternal rest, and the "Agnus Dei" is a prayer for peace.

The work is known for its dramatic and powerful music, which evokes feelings of mourning and sorrow. The "Dies Irae" in particular is known for its intense and ominous tone, and it is often used in films and other media to convey a sense of impending doom.

The Requiem is considered one of Mozart's greatest works and is one of the most famous and well-known requiems in Western classical music. It is performed frequently in concert halls and churches around the world as a tribute to the composer and as a reflection on the theme of death.


Mozart füllt Säle und die Riesenbühne

Lisette Oropesa bescherte etwas fülligere Belcanto-Brillanz

—  Florian Oberhummer  •  Salzburger Nachrichten

Performance History

Lisette has given 108 performances as Soprano.